Red light therapy panels shine red (around 630–670nm) and near-infrared (around 810–850nm) LED light onto the skin. They're sold for skin care, muscle recovery and general wellness. Research on photobiomodulation is active, but results vary by condition, device and dose, and a home panel isn't a treatment for any medical condition. If you have a specific health concern, ask a doctor.
If you've decided to try one, the market is full of panels with inflated or missing specs. This guide compares established brands sold on Amazon on the things you can check: wavelengths, stated irradiance and at what distance, panel size, controls, warranty and return policy.
| Panel | Wavelengths | Stated Irradiance | LEDs | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hooga HG300 | 660nm + 850nm | >73 mW/cm² at 6" | 60 | Check price |
| BestQool BQ60 (105W) | 660nm + 850nm, dual-chip | 95.6 mW/cm² at 3" | Not stated | Check price |
| Hooga PRO300 | 660nm + 850nm, dual-chip | Not stated | 60 | Check price |
| Mito Red Light MitoMIN 2.0 | 660nm + 850nm | Not stated (third-party tested) | 60 | Check price |
Wavelength. Most home panels combine 660nm red and 850nm near-infrared, the two wavelengths most often used in research. Check that the listing names both, and whether you can run them separately.
Irradiance, and at what distance. Irradiance (mW/cm²) is how much light reaches your skin, and it falls quickly with distance. A number without a distance is meaningless, and numbers at different distances can't be compared: BestQool's 95.6 mW/cm² is measured at 3 inches, Hooga's 73+ at 6 inches.
Who verifies it. Mito Red Light says its panels are independently third-party tested for power and spectrum. Most brands publish only their own figures. Prefer brands that state how and where they measured.
Hooga is one of the most established red light brands on Amazon, and the HG300 has 4.6 stars from 1,300+ reviews. Per Hooga, it has 60 LEDs at 660nm and 850nm with independent controls, more than 73 mW/cm² at 6 inches, active cooling, a 50,000-hour LED lifespan, an adjustable tabletop stand and protective eyewear, with a 3-year warranty. It's a compact panel for targeted sessions, not full-body coverage. The big caveat: the Amazon listing is marked non-returnable.
A compact red light panel from a brand that states its specs.
Check the Hooga HG300 on Amazon →The BestQool BQ60 is a 105W dual-chip panel at 660nm and 850nm with three modes, an adjustable U-shaped stand, and a stated 95.6 mW/cm² at 3 inches. It has the most owner reviews of these panels (1,800+, 4.6 stars) and a free 30-day return window, which makes it the safer buy if you're unsure red light therapy is for you.
The Hooga PRO300 uses dual-chip LEDs, so every LED emits both wavelengths for more even coverage. It adds flicker-free LEDs and a built-in timer, and it can link to other PRO panels. Mito Red Light's MitoMIN 2.0 is sold on Amazon by Mito's official store: a 60-LED 660/850nm panel with a digital timer, which Mito says is third-party tested and FSA/HSA eligible.
Follow the manufacturer's guidance for your panel. Home sessions are usually several minutes per area at the distance the brand specifies. Longer isn't necessarily better, and more light at closer range can get warm.
Research on red and near-infrared light (photobiomodulation) is ongoing, with results that vary by use, device and dose. Treat a home panel as a wellness device, not a medical treatment, and talk to a doctor about any specific condition.
Panels are very bright. Don't look directly into the LEDs, and wear the protective eyewear that comes with the panel (both Hooga picks include it). Ask a doctor first if you have eye conditions or take light-sensitizing medications.
Irradiance drops quickly with distance, so brands that measure closer to the panel report higher numbers. Compare panels only at the same stated distance, and be wary of listings that give no distance at all.
Specs and facts on this page come from these sources, checked . How we research.